quantum    storage and manipulation

Experimental research of quantum information based on atomic ensemble is divided into quantum storage and manipulation of quantum coding and quantum states.


1. quantum storage


   Quantum communication system careering information based on a single photon is associated with the size of the encoded spatial dimensions. In traditional, photon coding in a two-dimensional space, and thus the amount of information carried by a photon is a bit. If one can encode a photon in a high-dimensional space (such as orbital angular momentum space), the amount of information carried by a single photon will  be increased significantly (by up to a bit bits, where d is the space dimension.) Also, the use of high dimensional coding photon state can also improve the security of quantum key transmission and have critical applications in the study of some of the fundamental problems of quantum mechanics. Realization of quantum networks in quantum communication must be employing a quantum repeater, which constitutes the core of the quantum storage unit named a quantum repeater. Implement and  Release photons carried information stored in the quantum storage unit is the essential function. Thus encoding photon in high dimensional space can improve the quantum efficiency of communication.

Our team carries out quantum critical issues around the scientific goals of high capacity communications. Experimental study of high-dimensional quantum memory based on the orbital angular momentum of photons encoded single-photon state, high-dimensional single-photon state, two-dimensional and high-dimensional entangled state quantum memory, creating a new direction in the field of quantum memory. We have published a series of papers in Nat. Comm., PRL, PRA, and other top academic journals, the main results are Nat. Photon. Recommended as a bright spot, the MIT and many other sites of Technology Review positive reviews, and Science, Nature extensive sub Journal, PRL references.




MIT's TechnologyReview:


http://www.technologyreview.com/view/514921/first-quantum-memory-that-records-the-shape-of-a-single-photon-unveiled-in-china

Main paper:

1. Dong-Sheng Ding, Zhi-Yuan Zhou, Bao-Sen Shi & Guang-Can Guo. Single-photon-level quantum image memory based on cold atomic ensembles. Nat. Commun. 4. 2527(2013).

2. Dong-Sheng Ding, Wei Zhang, Zhi-Yuan Zhou, Shuai Shi, Xi-Shi Wang, Yun-Kun Jiang, Bao-Sen Shi, and Guang-Can Guo. Quantum Storage of Orbital Angular Momentum Entanglement in an atomic ensemble. Physical Review Letters. 114, 050502 (2015).  


2. Broadband memory


  Quantum entanglement is a quantum core to build the network, storage and quantum entanglement, which is the key to achieve a quantum network. Broadband, high-speed information transmission and processing are the actual needs of the communication system. High bandwidth storage photon entangled states are the construction required high-speed quantum network information processing capability and have important implications for quantum information technology into practical usage. In many quantum storage scheme, Raman compared to other protocols such as the EIT protocol schemes have many advantages, such as large bandwidth signals can be stored, the storage system inhomogeneously broadened width is not sensitive, and the stored single photon having a frequency tonality. If we can achieve polarization entangled photon Raman storage, undoubtedly it has a considerable significance for the future to build the high-speed fiber-based quantum network.


   The scientific objectives of our group around the high-speed quantum information processing carried out key issues.


Experimental Study of broadband quantum memory for the first time to achieve a broadband single-photon-photon polarization entangled, which is to build for the future high-speed quantum network and a linear optical quantum computing foundation. The results, published in Nature Photonics 9. 332-338 (2015).


Main paper:


1.Dong-Sheng Ding, Yun Kun Jiang, Wei Zhang, Zhi-Yuan Zhou, Bao-Sen Shi, Guang-Can Guo. Optical precursor with four-wave mixing and storage based on a cold atomic ensemble. Physical Review Letters. 114, 093601 (2015).

2.Dong-Sheng Ding, Wei Zhang, Zhi-Yuan Zhou, Shuai Shi, Bao-Sen Shi, Guang-Can Guo. Raman Quantum Memory of Photonic Polarized Entanglement. Nature Photonics 9. 332–338(2015)

基于原子系综的量子信息实验研究

基于原子系综的量子信息实验研究主要分为量子编码,量子态的存储和操控。

1. 高维量子存储
量子通信系统中作为载体的单光子所携带的信息量的大小与所处编码的空间维数有关。目前光子主要编码在一个二维空间,因而一个光子携带的信息量是一个比特。如果能将光子编码在一个高维空间(如轨道角动量空间),则单个光子所能携带的信息量将大幅度增加,(可由一个比特提高到个比特,其中d是空间维数。)极大地提高量子通信的效率。此外,利用光子的高维编码态还可以提高量子密钥传输的安全性,并且在量子力学的一些基本问题的研究方面也有非常重要的应用。远距离量子通信的实现和量子网络的构成必须借助于量子中继器,而量子存储单元是构成量子中继器的核心,实现光子携带信息在存储单元中的存储与释放是实现中继功能的关键。因而能否实现编码于高维空间光子的量子存储是提高量子通信效率、构建基于高维中继器的远距离量子通信系统和量子网络的关键,而且是量子信息领域中一个急待解决的问题。
我们小组围绕高容量量子通信的科学目标开展了关键问题--高维量子存储的实验研究,首次实现了基于光子轨道角动量编码的单光子态、高维单光子态、二维以及高维纠缠态的量子存储,开创了量子存储领域的新方向。在Nat.Comm.、PRL、PRA等顶尖学术刊物发表系列论文,主要成果被Nat.Photon.作为亮点推荐,被MIT的TechnologyReview等多家网站积极评价,并被Science、Nature子刊、PRL等广泛引用。
MIT的TechnologyReview评价原文:http://www.technologyreview.com/view/514921/first-quantum-memory-that-records-the-shape-of-a-single-photon-unveiled-in-china/
主要论文:
1. Dong-Sheng Ding, Zhi-Yuan Zhou, Bao-Sen Shi & Guang-Can Guo. Single-photon-levelquantum imagememory basedon cold atomic ensembles. Nat. Commun. 4. 2527(2013).
2. Dong-Sheng Ding, Wei Zhang, Zhi-Yuan Zhou, Shuai Shi, Xi-Shi Wang,Yun-Kun Jiang, Bao-Sen Shi. and Guang-Can Guo. Quantum Storage of Orbital Angular Momentum Entanglement in an AtomicEnsemble. Physical Review Letters. 114, 050502 (2015).  

2. 宽带存储

量子纠缠是构建量子网络的核心,而量子纠缠的存储是实现量子网络的关键。宽带、高速度的信息传输和处理是通信系统的实际需求。大带宽光子纠缠态的存储是构建具备高速信息处理能力的量子网络的基本要求,对量子信息技术的实用化具有重要意义。在众多的量子存储方案中,拉曼协议相比于其它方案如EIT协议等具有很多优点,如可存储大带宽信号,对存储系统的非均匀展宽不敏感,以及所存储的单光子频率具有可调性等,因而该协议具备实现大宽带、高速信息处理的潜力。如果能够实现光子偏振纠缠的拉曼存储,无疑对未来构建基于光纤的高速量子网络具有非常大的意义。
我们小组围绕高速量子信息处理的科学目标开展了关键问题--宽带量子存储的实验研究,首次实现了宽带单光子、光子偏振纠缠及混合纠缠的量子存储,是该领域的第一个标志性成果, 为该领域建立了一个基准点,对未来构建高速量子网络以及线性光量子计算奠定基础。实验结果发表在Nature Photonics 9. 332–338(2015)。
相关论文:
1.Dong-Sheng Ding, Yun Kun Jiang, Wei Zhang, Zhi-Yuan Zhou, Bao-Sen Shi, Guang-Can Guo. Optical precursor with four-wave mixing and storage based on a cold atomic ensemble. Physical Review Letters. 114, 093601 (2015).
2.Dong-Sheng Ding, Wei Zhang, Zhi-Yuan Zhou, Shuai Shi, Bao-Sen Shi, Guang-Can Guo. Raman Quantum Memory of Photonic Polarized Entanglement. Nature Photonics 9. 332–338(2015)